Show mobile menu
Show search control
Show search control
Search Site

About East Herts

The District of East Hertfordshire has a population of approximately 144,000 and covers about 480 square miles on the eastern side of Hertfordshire.

The district has Broxbourne  to the south, Welwyn and Hatfield and Stevenage to the west and North Hertfordshire as its northern boundary. To the east, the district borders on the county of Essex.

The main centres of population are Hertford, Ware, Bishops Stortford, Sawbridgeworth and Buntingford. Between these main centres much of the area is open countryside, with rural communities of various sizes.

The vision of the Council is to provide East Hertfordshire residents and businesses with a future that is prosperous and sustainable. In order to achieve this, a number of strategic objectives have been developed, which allow the Council in conjunction with its many partners to focus on the key issues that concern the residents of East Hertfordshire.

For more information on the Council's vision and strategic objectives, please see our Vision & Corporate Priorities.

Map of East Herts

East Herts District and Town location map

Further Information & Statistics

For the most up to date about the population, employment, qualifications and businesses within East Herts please see the Nomis website


Have you found the information on this page helpful?

Rate as GoodRate as AverageRate as Poor